Dear Baby Me: May 22 & 23, 1997

Standard

Thursday 8:18pm
Dear Steve,
I hate Zach’s parents! They’ve now stopped us from talking to each other. Doesn’t that suck? I hate ‘em, I hate ‘em, I hate ‘em! Maybe they’ll ease up sometime after his b-day. I just got off the phone with Zach. He’s going to write. I can’t decide whether or not it’s a comfort that he cried for an hour when his parents told him. I think it is. It’s very sweet and it satisfys (I know that isn’t spelled right) some overdramatic urge. I know I’m overdramatic. I like being overdramatic. It makes life interesting. I’ve gotta go!
Ciao! 9:53pm

Friday 9:42am
Dear Steve,
Yesterday was officially the worst day of my life! Not only did I find out that I couldn’t talk to Zach anymore but I also found out that we’re not going to Montana! Doesn’t that SUCK?! Something’s wrong with the Mazda and dad doesn’t trust the wagon! It’s not fair! The only good part about it is that dad’s probably going to take me to The Lost World in theaters! Now that’s cool! However I would gladly never go to a movie again if I thought it would make Zach’s parents change their minds! I’ve gotta go!
Ciao!
Love Meg

 

Dear Baby Me,

It is truly adorable that you just straight up admitted to enjoying being over-dramatic. I mean, I know that was true, and I feel like I remember knowing that was true even then, but it wasn’t something you generally admitted to. If I could tell you something now, I suppose it would be that drama does not actually make life more interesting, not that it would matter.

It does suck that Zach’s parents are against you for whatever reason, and it does suck that you didn’t go to Montana. As I recall, that was the only major trip that was ever planned for just you and your dad and it never happened. I’m sorry that didn’t happen for you, I know it would have meant a lot.

Also, as much as you are in love with Zach in this moment, let me assure you that you would not gladly give up all future theater trips for him. You probably wouldn’t even give them up for the next 6 months. But, you know. It sounds nice.

Much love, Me

 

 

Leave a Reply

