Dear Baby Me: August 6, 1996

Standard

Dear Journal,
Ash is over today. She’s left a lot of nail marks. We wanted to go bike-riding so mom said we could go down the road we went all the way to the end and a little farther. Altogether it was about six miles both ways. That was a long ride. Tommorrow I get to go to Kim’s if I finish my work on time. This morning I babysat and I’m doing it again tommorrow! Geuss what?! I checked my reading list and it hasn’t even been a 4rth of a year and I’m on my 50th book! Pretty cool, huh? Gotta go!
Ciao!
Love Meg

 

Dear Baby Me,

So this is a weird aside that you have made. I can’t decide what to make of it. I know what you’re talking about, but I’m not sure if you’re yet at a place in your writing where you’ve started using things for dramatic impact and attention.

Here is what I can say with certainty. You and your friend Ashley used to have a very strange game that she most certainly talked you into, which was based on pain. You would both dig your nails into each other’s arms as deeply as possible until someone gave in. Sometimes she didn’t listen when you gave in. You always gave in first. Often there was blood. I don’t quite know what to say about it beyond that. It lasted for quite some time, your mother always seemed perplexed but did not forbid it. So… yeah.

I’m looking forward to the point in your life when you start being able to stick up to your friends. It is definitely not here yet. It is arguable whether or not it will ever happen with Ashley.

In other news, you have started your booklist! Good for you! And yes, I would say that 50 books is quite good indeed. I am a little confused by your numbers… maybe you only started your booklist a few months ago? Either way! Even if you had finished 50 books in 8 months, I would be impressed. If it was in 4, I am very impressed. I hate to tell you that at this point in your life, you struggle to make it through 50 books in the whole year. But you do a lot better in movies.

Love, Me

Leave a Reply

