Dear Baby Me: June 12, 1996

Standard

Dear Journal,
I geuss I forgot to tell you that Uncle Mark and Aunt Shelly are coming – with their five kids! I like my relatives, but twelve people in this house does not fit my idea of fun. Anyway they’re coming today. Last night we left dads car at Grandma’s. Dad’s gonna sluff off his pick-ups come to Grandma’s and park his truck in the church parking lot which is right behind Grandma’s apartments. Then we’ll go meet them at the airport. We spent $104 and almost had to get another cart! I redecorated my room to. It looks pretty cool. Well gotta go!
Love Meg
P.S. Don’t expect expect me to write for a while.

 

Dear Baby Me,

Okay but like do you like your relatives? I mean, I think that saying you dislike them would be too strong but saying you like them also seems very strong. These are people you see once every two years or so. All of the cousins are younger than you, even the oldest is several years too young to be very interesting to you yet. Basically what is happening is that your house is being taken over by an insane number of people, you’re being kicked out of your bedroom and you’ll get to entertain a lot of kids. It’s actually okay that you’re not super thrilled about that.

The rest of your entry is amusingly haphazard. I know that “sluff off packages” (spelling notwithstanding) is a thing that your dad says but I don’t think you have the slightest idea what it means. Also I assume you are referring to grocery shopping as to how much you spent? It’s cute that you’re so excited about it. I wish I remembered what “redecorating” your room looked like but I don’t. More stickers on the wall maybe?

Good luck with your family.

Love, Me

P.S. Your PS is adorable.

Leave a Reply

