Happy New Year: Looking Forward

Standard

It is 2015. I like it. Good, round year, a multiple of five. I am feeling good about it. As I pretty much laid out in last week’s post, 2014 was basically the best year I’ve ever had. I was, overall, probably the happiest I’ve ever been and I learned and grew and graduated and all kinds of good things happened. So I feel good about looking into 2015 and thinking about what I want to do with it. I definitely have some ideas!

The first thing I’m going to do that is really kind-of different for me this year is I’m going to try and take a picture every day. Not of myself or anything, although some of them may be of myself, I have no idea. But when I was using Facebook’s handy “see your year in pictures” feature, I mostly realized that I had had a great year but also that I did not take pictures. So a lot of the point of this is to see if I can build a habit. Essentially if I’m being mindful about pulling the camera out when something is happening or when I see something that strikes me, then it will become something I just normally do. I feel like that is not the worst habit to have.

As part of this attempt, I made another step into the present today and got myself Instagram, which is awesome. As… probably everyone already knows because I imagine I am the last person on this boat. But that’s okay. I don’t mind cheerfully joining trends late. I am not a hipster. I almost never liked it before it was cool.

Other things. I am going to get a FitBit. This is totally partly due to Julie (in case she reads this and is like WHY DOES MEG KEEP DOING THINGS I TALK ABOUT DOING??? It is mostly because you are awesome, Julie, I assumed that would be obvious) because she would mention it offhandedly in multiple conversations and at some point I realized I didn’t really know what those things did but maybe they were cool. So then I looked them up and they were so cool. And more importantly they really go along with the weird sort of shit that motivates me. Like here is the thing. I have definitely gained some weight back but I am not even super bothered by that, and have tried very hard to not pay much attention to the number on a scale at all because I feel like my life is way healthier when I don’t do that. However, I am woefully out of shape. I mean, seriously it is ridiculous. It is mostly because my life is primarily sedentary. I like to sit and watch movies and sit and be on the computer and sit and read books and sit and eat chocolate. And all of those things involve a lot of sitting and it turns out that then when you have to go walk up hills, you stop being able to breathe. And then, if you’re me, you think to yourself that everyone is laughing at you for being the fat girl who cannot walk up a hill, even though I don’t think of myself as fat and am not particularly bothered by my weight at all. SO. Basically it is weird social pressure that I have very much internalized in strange ways. Also I would love to be able to walk up a hill happily.

With that in mind, how does one get to that goal? Because I don’t know if you know this guys but exercise is so boring. Like seriously, it is the  most boring. I hate it. Not just because it is uncomfortable and makes me not be able to breathe and I feel self-conscious and I hurt during and afterward but also because it is boring and there are no instant results to see. I want cookies. But cookies do not actually help the process, as it turns out, which I think means the world has been designed in a way I fundamentally object to. Like if I say to myself “I should go for a walk” what does that actually mean to me? I mean, I can go for a walk and then come back and say well, that was a thing I did and probably it was a good thing because I am a bit winded but… who knows. But if I walk with a FitBit I will know how many steps I took. I can set GOALS of steps to make per day. I can get status updates. It can tell me how I slept. I think I can get graphs. I know this is weird but these are my cookies. I have realized I respond bizarrely well to pixels. So I think this will be very effective for me and I am excited.

I am going to try really hard to pay off my smaller credit card. Then I will still have a much bigger one to pay off but it’ll only be one and I like the idea of only having one to pay down. Interest or no interest, it just seems more manageable.

I am going to keep doing my words every day on http://www.750words.com and this is the year I will finally become a Space Bird (speaking of being motivated by pixels). 500 days in a row. This is it. I was almost there this last year and I screwed it up within like the last 50 days. But this year will be different and I will succeed.

I have normal, smaller things for me. I will try to finish 55 books this year (I did 53 for 2014 so… you know. Basically the same). I will maybe attempt for 300 movies, which I didn’t make it to this year (only 283). This year I’m tracking all the tv I watch as well as all the movies and I’m also tracking what platform I’m watching everything on. So whether I watched something on Netfix, Hulu, Amazon, etc. I’m somewhat just curious how much I use things. I will learn to cook at least a few more dishes in my crockpot. I haven’t set a particular goal on that yet, maybe I’ll think on it some more.

I like yearly plans but, in looking over some online planners, I’ve found some other things I like. The idea of making goals for specific parts of your life on a week to week basis appeals to me and I’m trying to figure out how I might incorporate that. I would like to become more involved in school stuff, although that is the sort of thing I say and have a hard time following through on. Perhaps when it is connected to more specific things I will be able to make more specific goals around that.

In looking at all of this, I think I feel I want to learn to focus more this year. I want to explore more, learn some things that work for me and some that don’t in areas of my life I haven’t paid a lot of attention to. And I’m not going to beat myself up much if these particular ideas don’t work. If they don’t, no big deal. There are always new ones to try.

Happy New Year, everyone. I hope your 2015 is as awesome as you are. ❤

3 thoughts on “Happy New Year: Looking Forward

  1. Do you know which one you are going to get?? My parents said they would buy me one for my birthday, but I really want the Charge HR so I hope they release it by then

    • I was kind-of thinking just the regular charge one. The heartrate thing IS pretty cool but I probably don’t really need it perse and also I feel like I should start now while I feel motivated. Or… when loans come in while I feel motivated. 😛 But that is a sweet feature.

      • Yeah, I’d be totally happy with the regular Charge too. A couple of friends of mine have the One (I think it’s the One) and it’s fun, like, they bring them when we go dancing so we can feel good at the end of the night for having taken so many steps 😛

Leave a Reply

