Dear Baby Me: May 20, 1996

Standard

Dear Journal,
I just lied to the Micker! I called in to say I wanted to hear Geoff Moore’s song Home Run and he asked me what my name was and since I didn’t want mom to know I told him it was Ebony Rogers! And he’s going to say I’m dedicating it to my church! I feel awful, but I can’t tell anyone! I’m an idiot. I geuss I gotta go.
Love Meg

 

Dear Baby Me,

This is the most adorable. Okay, for context for the kids at home, Micker was a radio dj on the local Christian radio station. He did a show every night. However, I am not at all clear on why you didn’t want your mom to know you had called? Would you have gotten in trouble? Why should it matter that you called a Christian radio station and requested a (terrible) Christian song that you loved?

But I love this entry because it’s weirdly one of the only times you seem guilty and terrified and freaked out about something you’ve done, which is weird because what you’ve done is literally nothing. So you know. Take a deep breath. Everything will be okay.

Love, Me

Leave a Reply

