Dear Baby Me: April 28, 1996

Standard

Dear Journal,
I must be going out of my mind! You won’t believe who I have a crush on now! Get ready… Brent! The trouble is I don’t think I fell in love with him! I think I fell in love with the charecter he played in the play. Oh well. I’d better start from the begginning. I can’t believe it! O.K., it started today when the jr high/high schoolers did a play. Brent was a main character. After I watched the play I was totally in love with Brent and there’s nothing I can do about it! He wouldn’t even know I was alive if I hadn’t refused to let him in when his brother locked him out of the church! Some memory!
Bye!
Love Meg

 

Dear Baby Me,

You are not going crazy. You have a crush on a character in a play. This is not uncommon, this is actually 100% normal for you. It is nice that you can differentiate when it’s a real person. It is amusing that what you take no note of at all is the fact that Brent is… either 16 or 17 and you are 12. So the fact that his only memory of you is of not letting him into the church is not nearly as relevant as the fact that his entire conception of you is (rightly) as a child.

I do enjoy how firm you are with your announcement though. You are in love with him and there is nothing you can do about it! I mean, you know. It’s fine, hon. You’ll move on. It’ll all be fine. Somewhere you still have the program from that play in your childhood scrapbook, with hearts drawn around his name. In spite of all that? I couldn’t tell you what he looked like to save my life.

So you know. Everything will be okay.

Love, Me

Leave a Reply

