Dear Baby Me: July 6, 1995

Standard

Dear Journal,
Mom took away my library books for awhile because I hadn’t written in you for awhile. I have a lot of things to tell you about. I’ve got a list of things to tell you so here goes. Ashley went to the Woodwards about a week ago. I miss her a lot. Three things are happening this friday. 1 Dads going to Promise keepers. Mom says the only reason he’s going is to see Dave. Saturday night Dave is spending the night here. I can hardly wait, he’s so much fun! 2 My sunday school slumber party at the Swansons cabin. It’s going to be so fun. We can swim as late as we want and make as much noise as we want because nobody lives there. I can hardly wait! 3 Carmen and all her kids except Ashley are coming to spend the night because Mark is going to Promisekeepers too. Now I’ll tell you a little about my dream. It was very romantic. Jack Kelly from Newsies was my boyfriend. He was so sweet. And he was GOURGOUSE! We kissed more then once – more like 3 or 4 times – and it was wonderful. I loved it! I will now tell you about the 4rth of July. We actually bought fireworks, they were cool! Everybody in Monica’s family except for her dad – he wasn’t feeling so great – came over to watch. I hope we do it again next year.
Ciao!
Love Meg

 

Dear Baby Me,

To be honest, I’m not sure what to say about a lot of this. Dad’s visit to the Promise Keeper’s conference was not a particularly noteworthy event for you. I know there were fathers who came back feeling deeply changed by their experiences but I think your dad was a bit put off by all the feeling stuff. He would tell you later how he never felt like he fit in with the idea of what a Christian man was supposed to be and I suspect this was one of those occasions.

Ashley will be in and out of various places throughout your adolescence. I don’t think your crush on her ever really fades and I know you don’t ever recognize it. Sometimes she shows up back in your life for a while and it’s always confusing and exhilarating and sometimes upsetting and other things. That’s just how it goes.

As for the last part. Oh no. Oh dear. It’s started. Sigh. I don’t know what to say about that. Before the end of the year things are gonna go super crazy on the boy crazy front. But I guess you have a few months left before it starts in earnest. I think it’s adorable that in your dream you kissed a whole three or four times and it was like the most exciting thing that could possibly have happened. I mean, I totally believe it was. It’s just very cute.

Anyway. Moving forward!

Love, Me

Leave a Reply

