Dear Baby Me: June 30, 1995

Standard

Dear Journal,
Sooooooooooooooo sorry I havn’t written. Remember when I told you about Star Gate? Well it wasn’t very good. It had a lot of stuff about these Gods, Lori, Loi, and Lys. I didn’t like it very much. I’m now reading Back Home which is good so far. My mom said I couldn’t read Beyond the Burning Time. I was dissipointed. Breed to Come was very good.
Ciao!
Love Meg

 

Dear Baby Me,

So I totally did have another entry after the last one that was absolutely nothing but book jackets… but I decided to skip over that one. We get the idea. You were weird.

In other news, this one mostly interests me because I feel like this is the first time you ever talk about not liking a movie but (I assume you’re talking about the movie…?) but I don’t know if you understand why you don’t like it? I don’t know. I remember watching this. Mom and dad didn’t exactly give permission, you managed to forget to ask and you all watched it while small group was happening. It was PG-13 and you definitely wouldn’t have been allowed at this age if you had asked but they didn’t know. You were really frightened of a lot of what was happening (part of the impact of seeing so few things is that you did not have much tolerance for “frightening” things) and all you really understood about other gods or religions were how they were bad.

I don’t think Stargate is a good movie. I have never watched it since but I’m certain there are many story and other problems with it. But it’s sad to me that your only possible reaction at this point (and probably for a good while longer) was to write off anything immediately if it was uncomfortable for you. It was what you were raised for and it makes me sad. I mean, the reason mom banned you from reading Beyond the Burning Time was (I think?) because of the witchcraft that was not fantasy based.

Tl;dr. Your upbringing makes me sad and this makes me think about some of those things. Someday things with movies will be amazingly different for you but it’s going to take a really long time. Hang in.

Love, Me.

Leave a Reply

